Macros…Understanding Nutrition

Hello Lovelies!

First off, let me just say : I want to teach you how to fish.

“Give a man a fish, and he eats for a night. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.”

This is why I think it’s important for everyone to get an understanding of macros. It taught me how to fuel my body. It taught me to love food and be extra grateful for the nutrients I was providing my body. Now, once I tracked my macros for a few weeks, I let it go. I am now capable of eyeing a good portion for exactly what I need without carrying around a food scale and driving myself bonkers.

Let’s get started.

All foods are composed of either dietary fat, carbohydrates, and protein.

 

Protein

-Contains 4 calories per gram

-This varies per individual, but research shows that a majority of the population should consume a recommendation of 0.7-1 gram per pound of body weight

-It is used for the repair and growth of muscles, tissues, and cells, immune function, making essential hormones and enzymes, energy, and preserving lean muscle mass

-It is usually found in lean meats and fish, deli meats, eggs, dairy products, and supplements. They are also found in vegetables such as broccoli, kale, and spinach to name a few.

Dietary Fat

-Contains 9 calories per gram

-It is used for growth and development, energy, absorbing certain vitamins, providing cushioning for organs, and maintaining cell members

-It is usually found in nut butters, nuts, avocado, fattier meats, oils, and full fat milk cheese

Carbohydrates

-The main source of energy used by your body (glucose)

-Contains 4 calories per gram

-It is the main source for fuel. All body tissues use glucose for energy, necessary for the central nervous system, kidneys, brain, and muscles to function properly, important in intestinal health and waste elimination.

-It is usually found in rice, potatoes, oatmeals, chips, breads, cereals, beans, vegetables, and fruits

-You must first determine how many calories YOUR body needs to figure out your carbohydrate intake

 

DISCLAIMER–My truest belief:

Each body reacts to certain macronutrient intake, particular foods, etc. very differently. If you are choosing to make this a lifestyle, you will find what works best for you by trial and error. It may take days, weeks, months, or even years to find your perfect formula. And once you do, don’t let anyone else tell you otherwise. OWN your formula because it’s YOURS. For now, sit back, experiment, enjoy the food, and enjoy the ride.

 

In my next blog post, I will be talking about calculating YOUR macros. If you have found yourself stuck, this will be another experiment. 🙂

Hope you have a blessed day!

 

XOXO

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

